Charlotte-Mecklenburg Historic Landmarks Commission

HLC Roster

Historic Landmarks Commission Roster 2020-2021

The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Historic Landmarks Commission (HLC) is an agency of Mecklenburg County, and for budgetary purposes is a component of the County’s Asset and Facility Management department. The HLC has 12 members. The Board of County Commissioners appoints 6 members. The Charlotte City Council appoints 4 members. The Mayor of Charlotte appoints 2 members. All are appointed for 3-year terms and may be re-appointed for an additional 3-year term.

The Historic Landmarks Commission meets the second Monday night of each month at 6:00 p.m. at 2100 Randolph Road, Charlotte, N.C.

Any member of the public wishing to submit information to the HLC may do so using the contact information of the Staff and the Chair of the Commission at


1. Ms. Diane Althouse
Term: COUNTY – expires 07/31/2023 

2. Mr. Robert Barfield
Term: COUNTY – expires 07/31/2022 (eligible for reappointment)

3. Mr. Akadius Berry
Term: COUNTY – expires 07/31/2021 (eligible for reappointment)

4. Mr. Brian Clarke, Survey Committee Chair
Term: COUNTY – expires 07/31/2023 (eligible for reappointment)

5. Ms. Leila Farsiani
Term: CITY – expires 07/16/2023 (eligible for reappointment)

6. Ms. Laura Hoover, HLC Secretary
Term: COUNTY – expires 07/31/2021

7. Mr. William Hughes, HLC Vice Chair
Term: CITY – expires 06/16/2023 (eligible for reappointment)

8. Ms. Elizabeth Luke
Term: COUNTY – expires 07/31/2023 (eligible for reappointment)

9. Mr. Garrett Nelson, Design Review Committee Chair
Term: MAYOR – expires 07/16/2022 (eligible for reappointment)

10. Mr. Jeffrey B. Parsons, HLC Chair
Phone: 704-550-7072
Term: MAYOR – expires 06/30/2022 

11. Mr. Edwin Wilson, Projects Committee Chair
Term: CITY – expires 07/16/2021 (eligible for reappointment)

12. Vacant

Mr. Sandy Carnegie, HLC Attorney
Phone: 704-507-7791