Charlotte-Mecklenburg Historic Landmarks Commission


  1. Survey Committee.  The Survey Committee formulates recommendations regarding the designation or removal of designation of historic landmarks and the conducting of surveys and inventories of the local historic built environment.  The documentation for prospective historic landmarks is found in a Survey and Research Report.
  2. Projects Committee.  The Projects Committee formulates recommendations concerning the operations of the Commission’s $9 million revolving fund.  The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Historic Landmarks Commission has the largest, local, publicly funded historic preservation revolving fund in the United States.
  3. Design Review Committee The Design Review Committee formulates recommendations regarding the issuance of Certificates of Appropriateness (COA) for intended physical changes to historic landmarks. Certificates of Appropriates can be one of two types: a Minor Works COA  is issued for incidental changes.  The Chair of the Design Review Committee and the Preservation Planner of the HLC have the authority to issue such documents if they agree on its content.  Major Certificates of Appropriateness must come before the full Historic Landmarks Commission for action before issuance.
  4. Nominating Committee.  The Nominating Committee selects a list of nominees for the elected officers of the Commission.  They are:  Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer.